Tag Archives: Interesting Article

The Week In Photography 28th May 2013

Here’s what has caught my attention on the Internet about photography over the past few weeks: Bug-eye camera offers a new view of the world Creating Drama Through Cinematic Light Backlit Photography 101: Secrets of Expressive Backlit Portraits The illusion of simplicity: photographer Peter Belanger on shooting for Apple Strange Geographies: The Mojave Desert’s Airplane […]

The Week in Photography 6th May 2013

Here’s what caught my attention on the Internet about photography in the past week: Amazing Macro Photos of Bugs With An Unsual Accessory Explore Hong Kong’s ‘Vertical Horizon’ in These Reverse-Vertigo Inducing Photos ProScope Micro Mobile lets your iPhone get mega-close-ups Panasonic introduces DMC-G6 and DMC-LF1 cameras 14-Year-Old Photographer’s Amazingly Surreal Self Portraits VFX pro […]

The Week In Photography 25th April 2013

Here’s what caught my attention on the Internet in the past week or so: David Kingham Photography | Focusing at Night Seven Lenses for The Portrait Shooter on a Budget FocusTwist: Focus-Controllable Images with the iPhone | CDTobie’s Photo Blog How to Do Stop Motion Photography: An Introduction The Great Compositions of Photographer Alfred Eisenstaedt […]

The Week In Photography 12th April 2013

Here’s what has caught my attention on the Internet recently about photography: Colorful Long Exposure Photos of Glow Sticks Dropped Into Waterfalls Blackmagic Design Announces Blackmagic Pocket Cinema Camera G-Technology announces new family of Thunderbolt-equipped docks, drives NeroTrigger camera trigger is faster (and smarter) than your shutter finger Canon XA25 HD and XA20 HD Camcorders: […]

The Week In Photography 10th March 2013

Here’s what caught my attention about photography and related fields in the past week: Review: GoPro Hero3 Black Edition Rare, Full-Color Photos from WWII Phenomenal Photography by Finland Photographer Mikko Lagerstedt… 35mm Showdown: Canon, Canon L and Sigma Comparison Big Bang: Abstract Photograms Created by Exposing Photo Paper to Fireworks Guardian photographers share tips for […]

The Week In Photography 27th January 2012

Here’s what caught my attention on the Internet in the past week about photography: Turn Your iPad Into a Second Monitor for Free http://mashable.com/2013/01/23/free-ipad-second-screen-app/ Here’s what your iPhone needs – a viewfinder http://www.gizmag.com/daylight-viewfinder-iphone-eyepiece/25917/?utm_source=Gizmag+Subscribers&utm_campaign=586d21d7e8-UA-2235360-4&utm_medium=email 3rd Person View lets you star in your own action videos http://www.gizmag.com/3rd-person-view-camera-mount/25905/?utm_source=Gizmag+Subscribers&utm_campaign=586d21d7e8-UA-2235360-4&utm_medium=email iPhone Shutter Remote Wirelessly Takes Photos Up To 30 Feet […]

The Week In Photography 20th January 2013

Here’s what caught my attention about photography, video and art in the past week: 10 Zero Budget Filmmaking Tips http://www.raindance.org/blog/10-zero-budget-filmmaking-tips/ Your Basic Filmmaking Kit & Crew: A 3-Level Guide http://www.raindance.org/blog/your-basic-filmmaking-kit-crew-a-3-level-guide/ Video Codecs: What to know – Filmmaking Tutorial http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7Uk6nzYCr7o 8 Honest Behind-The-Scenes Movie Making Documentaries http://www.filmschoolrejects.com/features/8-honest-behind-the-scenes-documentaries-that-show-both-sides-of-movie-making-dbell.php/2 Alt Script: Four Ways to Control Your Script’s Budget […]

The Week In Photography 14th January 2013

Here’s what caught my attention on the Internet in the past week about photography: The Best of 2012 on iPh0! | iPhoneogenic: iPhoneography | Mobile Photography http://iphoneogenic.wordpress.com/2013/01/11/the-best-of-2012-on-iph0/ How To Prep For Sundance And Become An Indie Sensation | Co.Create: Creativity \ Culture \ Commerce http://www.fastcocreate.com/1682151/how-to-prep-for-sundance-and-become-an-indie-sensation?partner=newsletter Panasonic unveils HX-A100 Wearable Camcorder http://www.gizmag.com/panasonic-hx-a100-wearable-camcorder/25741/?utm_source=Gizmag+Subscribers&utm_campaign=d4b4b53b24-UA-2235360-4&utm_medium=email Ricoh’s 360-degree, one shot […]

The Week in Photography 6th January 2013

Here’s what caught my attention on photography out on the Internet in the past week: How To Create a Motion Blur Effect in Photoshop http://digital-photography-school.com/how-to-create-a-motion-blur-effect-in-photoshop An Introduction To Canon’s Wireless Flash System http://www.thephoblographer.com/2010/10/20/an-introduction-to-canons-wireless-flash-system/ Project: Creating a multispectral camera http://blog.mingthein.com/2013/01/06/the-multispectral-nex/ Memoto Photographs Your Entire Life, Then Sorts It Too | Co.Design: business + innovation + design […]

The Week in Photography 31st December 2012

Here’s what caught my attention about photography on the Internet in the past week: 6 Filmmaking Tips From Quentin Tarantino http://www.filmschoolrejects.com/features/6-filmmaking-tips-from-quentin-tarantino.php How To Make A True Independent Film: One Artist, One Vision http://filmcourage.com/content/how-to-make-a-true-independent-film-one-artist-one-vision Headless Portraits From the 19th Century http://www.petapixel.com/2012/12/29/headless-portraits-from-the-19th-century/ The out-of-this-world pictures of terrifying storms captured by a daredevil photographer who ran toward dangerous […]

The Week In Photography 23rd December 2012

Here’s what caught my attention on the Internet in the past week about photography: A Study of Light, Shadows, and Framing: Street Photos by Ray Metzker http://www.petapixel.com/2012/12/21/a-study-of-light-shadows-and-framing-street-photos-by-ray-metzker/ The Ethics of Photographing Random Strangers on the Street http://www.petapixel.com/2012/12/22/the-ethics-of-photographing-random-strangers-on-the-street/ Remarkable Photos Show Picasso “Painting” With Light | Co.Design: business + innovation + design http://www.fastcodesign.com/1671475/remarkable-photos-show-picasso-painting-with-light?partner=newsletter#1 SLR Lounge Interviews […]

The Week in Photography 16th December 2012

Here’s what caught my attention on the Internet in the past week about photography: Underwater Photography Books http://www.divephotoguide.com/underwater-photography-scuba-ocean-news/2012-underwater-photography-book-holiday-gift-guide/ Look Lock is an Inspector Gadget-Style Smartphone Holder for Child Photos http://www.petapixel.com/2012/12/15/look-lock-is-an-inspector-gadget-style-smartphone-holder-for-child-photos/ Why The Canon 6D Is A Groundbreaking New Camera http://photographyconcentrate.com/why-the-canon-6d-is-a-groundbreaking-new-camera/ For Beginners – Learning to See http://digital-photography-school.com/for-beginners-learning-to-see 12 Myths About Photography And Photographers http://digital-photography-school.com/12-myths-about-photography-and-photographers Originality […]

The Week In Photography 9th December 2012

Here’s what caught my attention on the Internet in the past week about photography: Reuters Announces Its List of Best Photos for 2012; Redditor Breaks Down All the Gear Used http://www.thephoblographer.com/2012/12/03/reuters-announces-its-list-of-best-photos-for-2012-redditor-breaks-down-all-the-gear-used/ 11 Portraits Of Life As A Post-Playboy Bunny http://www.fastcodesign.com/1671411/11-portraits-of-life-as-a-post-playboy-bunny Ethereal Macro Photos of Snowflakes in the Moments Before They Disappear http://www.petapixel.com/2012/12/07/ethereal-macro-photos-of-snowflakes-in-the-moments-before-they-disappear/ How Recording One […]

The Week in Photography 2nd December 2012

Here’s what caught my attention about photography on the Internet in the past week: Bokeh Photography by Joni Niemelä http://www.inspirefirst.com/2012/12/02/bokeh-photography-joni-niemel/ Final Cut Pro X and Your Existing Mac Pro Computer | CDTobie’s Photo Blog http://cdtobie.wordpress.com/2012/12/01/final-cut-pro-x-and-your-existing-mac-pro-computer/ See Some of 2012′s Most Jaw-Dropping Images In AFP’s “Photos of the Year” | Co.Create: Creativity \ Culture \ Commerce […]

The Week in Photography 25th November 2012

Here’s what caught my attention on the Internet in the past week about Photography: Musician Will.i.am launching a 14-megapixel iPhone camera attachment next week http://www.idownloadblog.com/2012/11/24/will-i-am-14mp-iphone-camera/ “We May Be Seeing the Beginning of the Collapse of the Compact Camera Market” http://www.petapixel.com/2012/11/21/we-may-be-seeing-the-beginning-of-the-collapse-of-the-compact-camera-market/ 10 Great Media Players to Add Video to Your WordPress Site Effectively http://www.onextrapixel.com/2012/11/19/10-great-media-players-to-add-video-to-your-wordpress-site-effectively/ How to […]

The Week in Photography 18th November 2012

Here’s what caught my attention on the Internet in the past week about photography: Get Closer – The Morning News http://www.themorningnews.org/gallery/get-closer Shooting The Flood: Behind The MTA’s Photos Of A Sandy-Ravaged Subway | Co.Create: Creativity \ Culture \ Commerce http://www.fastcocreate.com/1681927/shooting-the-flood-behind-the-mtas-photos-of-a-sandy-ravaged-subway#1 Drift Innovation releases the souped-up Drift HD Ghost actioncam http://www.gizmag.com/drift-hd-ghost-actioncam/24958/?utm_source=Gizmag+Subscribers&utm_campaign=cec8597ff6-UA-2235360-4&utm_medium=email FocusMaker brings follow focus to […]

The Week In Photography 4th November 2012

Here’s what has caught my eye on the Internet about photography over the last two weeks (distractions stopped me doing this last week): The Year’s 20 Best Microscopic Photographs | Co.Design: business + innovation + design http://www.fastcodesign.com/1671156/the-years-20-best-microscopic-photographs?partner=newsletter#1 How to Set Up Your LinkedIn Profile: A Freelancer’s Guide http://freelanceswitch.com/freelance-marketing/set-up-your-linkedin-profile/ Liquid Art High Speed Macro Photography http://www.picturecorrect.com/tips/liquid-art-high-speed-macro-photography/ […]

The Week in Photography 21st October 2012

Here’s what caught my attention on the Intrnet about photography this week: World-Warping Photography Bends, Twists & Tears Reality http://weburbanist.com/2012/10/20/world-warping-photography-bends-twists-tears-reality/ WordPress Gallery Plugins or WordPress Gallery Themes? http://www.sevenbyfive.net/blog/wordpress-gallery-plugins-wordpress-gallery-themes/ Zeitgeist: On Ditching the Monograph and Digital Print Culture http://pressblog.uchicago.edu/2012/10/16/zeitgeist-on-ditching-the-monograph-and-digital-print-culture.html Get your iPhone photography moving with this simple technique http://www.idownloadblog.com/2012/10/13/iphone-photography-panning/ Amazingly Detailed Underwater Photography http://abduzeedo.com/amazingly-detailed-underwater-photography

The Week In Photography 14th October 2012

Here’s what has caught my attention over the past two weeks (last weekend was crazy about photography and related areas of digital art, etc: Is this shopped? Truth, lies, and art before and after Photoshop | The Verge http://www.theverge.com/2012/10/12/3489356/is-this-shopped-truth-lies-and-art-before-and-after-photoshop The Milky Way above a ghostly sea of cloud: The amazing shots taken by an amateur […]

The Week in Photography 30th September 2012

Here’s what caught my attention on the Internet about photography in the past week: Dueling Photogs Share The Same Roll Of Film | Co.Design: business + innovation + design http://www.fastcodesign.com/1670891/dueling-photogs-share-the-same-roll-of-film?partner=newsletter#1 The Portfolio of Bokeh eBook: A Monograph on Shallow Depths http://www.photographyblogger.net/the-portfolio-of-bokeh-ebook-a-monograph-on-shallow-depths/ Photographing the Milky Way In the Moment: Michael Frye’s Landscape Photography Blog http://www.michaelfrye.com/landscape-photography-blog/2012/09/27/photographing-the-milky-way/ tackling […]

The Week in Photography 23rd September 2012

Here’s what caught my attention on the Internet this past week: 40 Tutorials to Master the New Features of Photoshop CS6 http://www.1stwebdesigner.com/design/40-tutorials-to-master-new-features-of-photoshop-cs6/ iPhone 5 and iOS 6: Polished Panoramas, Pixel Oversampling, and a Sony Sensor http://www.petapixel.com/2012/09/22/iphone-5-and-ios-6-polished-panoramas-pixel-oversampling-and-a-sony-sensor/ RISD exhibition redefines landscapes – The Brown Daily Herald – Serving the community daily since 1891 http://www.browndailyherald.com/risd-exhibition-redefines-landscapes-1.2767258#.UFzsEaTZS6Y Like Pinterest […]

The Week in Photography 16th September 2012

Here’s what caught my eye on the Internet about photography in the past week: Writing Makes Photographers More Creative — 5 Easy Tips http://blog.chasejarvis.com/blog/2012/09/writing-makes-photographers-more-creative-5-easy-tips/ Stunning Autumn Photography by Ildiko Neer http://www.dzinewatch.com/2012/02/stunning-autumn-photography-by-ildiko-neer/ 12 WordPress eCommerce Photography Themes To Make You Money http://www.sevenbyfive.net/blog/ecommerce-photography-themes/ Photo Gallery: How to Take Landscape Photos — National Geographic http://photography.nationalgeographic.com/photography/photo-tips/landscape-photos/?source=link_tw20120915photos-landsctip Review: Camera app […]

The Week in Photography 9th September 2012

Here’s what caught my attention on the Internet about photography in the past week: The Natural Beauty of Australia – Landscape Photography by Drew Hopper http://www.photographyblogger.net/the-natural-beauty-of-australia-landscape-photography-by-drew-hopper/ 3 Concepts from Cognitive Science That Can Help You Become a Better Street Photographer http://erickimphotography.com/blog/2012/09/3-concepts-from-cognitive-science-that-can-help-you-become-a-better-street-photographer/  

The Week in Photography 2nd September 2012

Here’s what caught my attention on the Internet this past week about photography: The Visionary Landscape – Photography by Guy Tal http://trap.it/#!traps/id/93fd3b2c-5a32-43fd-b76e-3fdadfb217b0/articles/6AM8wl4GI002q6RDlQPn Marc Muench on Using a Tilt-Shift Lens http://trap.it/#!traps/id/93fd3b2c-5a32-43fd-b76e-3fdadfb217b0/articles/6AKdiTSGy002q6RDia8u Ultrathin, distortion-free flat lens could replace bulky glass lenses http://www.gizmag.com/ultrathin-flat-lens-harvard/23890/?utm_source=Gizmag+Subscribers&utm_campaign=72065432b0-UA-2235360-4&utm_medium=email

The Week in Photography 26th August 2012

Here’s what caught my attention about photography in the past week: Takuma Nakahira and Yutaka Takanashi | International Center of Photography Library http://icplibrary.wordpress.com/2012/08/24/provoke/ Nikon’s Android-Powered Bid to Change Mobile Photography http://www.readwriteweb.com/archives/nikons-android-powered-bid-to-change-mobile-photography.php iOShutter Mini Review http://photofocus.com/2012/08/22/ioshutter-mini-review/ Capturing Subtle Movement in Landscape Photography http://www.picturecorrect.com/tips/capturing-subtle-movement-in-landscape-photography/ Creep Factor: A Collection of Dark and Spooky Photography http://www.noupe.com/photography/dark-and-spooky-photography.html Limits + Problems + […]

The Week in Photography 19th August 2012

Here’s what caught my attention on the Internet this past week: 5 Tips, Tricks, & Mods To Spice Up Your Lomography http://www.lightstalking.com/5-tips-tricks-mods-to-spice-up-your-lomography 30 Free to Download Photoshop Splash Brushes http://naldzgraphics.net/freebies/photoshop-splash-brushes/ Long exposure photography by Trevor Cotton http://www.thedphoto.com/inspiration-fix/long-exposure-photography-by-trevor-cotton/ Words of Wisdom by Renowned Portrait Photographer Gregory Heisler http://www.petapixel.com/2012/08/18/words-of-wisdom-by-renowned-portrait-photographer-gregory-heisler/ ASMP Calls On NYPD to Clarify First Amendment […]

The Week in Photography 12th August 2012

Here’s what caught my attention on the web about photography in the past week: SPOT Connect helps your iPhone rescue you via satellite http://www.tuaw.com/2012/08/11/spot-connect-lets-your-iphone-rescue-you-via-satellite/ Voyeuristic Portraits of New Yorkers Seen Through Apartment Windows http://www.petapixel.com/2012/08/10/voyeuristic-portraits-of-new-yorkers-seen-through-apartment-windows/ Beautiful photos with motion blur http://www.thedphoto.com/inspiration-fix/beautiful-photos-with-motion-blur/ Yosemite photos http://www.news.com.au/travel/news/photographers-capture-beauty-of-yosemite-national-park-in-hit-timelapse-video/story-e6frfq80-1226444929596 Photographing Architecture http://digital-photography-school.com/photographing-architecture